We are a society of scholars interested in the life, work and writings of Nicholas of Cusa (1401-1464) and his times. We welcome you to join us.

This portrait of Nicholas of Cusa, dating around 1460, belongs to the triptych altarpiece in the chapel of the St.-Nikolaus-Hospital that he founded in Kues.

This portrait of Nicholas of Cusa, dating around 1460, belongs to the triptych altarpiece in the chapel of the St.-Nikolaus-Hospital that he founded in Kues.

About Nicholas of Cusa

Nicholas of Cusa (1401-1464) was among the most illustrious Christian humanists of the fifteenth century. Trained as a canonist, he first made his mark in political thought and had a long career as papal envoy, cardinal and bishop. Nicholas was an original thinker who wrote on mystical theology, natural philosophy and Platonism, but also penned over two hundred sermons and two dozen geometrical treatises. His ideas of learned ignorance, the coincidence of opposites, the infinity of the cosmos, and religious tolerance still attract attention today.


About the American Cusanus Society

The American Cusanus Society, founded in 1983, promotes the study of Nicholas of Cusa and his times. It holds a biennial conference at the Lutheran Theological Seminary in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, as well as annual sessions at the International Congress on Medieval Studies at Western Michigan University and the Renaissance Society of America. From these events the Society has produced numerous volumes of collaborative scholarship. We also publish the biannual American Cusanus Society Newsletter containing articles, notices and bibliographies of recent works, which has become an important resource in Cusanus studies. We partner with affiliated societies in Germany, Japan and Argentina and welcome members from around the world. 

Constitution and By-Laws of the American Cusanus Society

Travel Grant and Subvention Grant Policies



Officers of the Society (2014-2019 term)

David Albertson, University of Southern California

Former Presidents
Morimichi Watanabe †, C.W. Post Campus, Long Island University (1983-2004)
Gerald Christianson, Lutheran Theological Seminary (2004-2009 term)
Peter Casarella, University of Notre Dame (2009-2014 term)

Vice President
Donald F. Duclow, Gwynedd-Mercy College 

Jason Aleksander, National University

Thomas M. Izbicki, Rutgers University

Newsletter Editor
Meredith Ziebart, independent scholar


Executive Committee

David Albertson (ex officio)

Tamara Albertini, University of Hawai'i at Mānoa (2017-2020)

Jason Aleksander (ex officio)

Elizabeth Brient, University of Georgia (2015-2018)

Charles Carman †, University at Buffalo (SUNY) (2015-2018)

Peter Casarella (2016-2019)

Donald F. Duclow (ex officio) 

Rita George-Tvrtkovic, Benedictine University (2015-2018)

Thomas M. Izbicki (ex officio)

Il Kim, Auburn University (2017-2020)

K. Meredith Ziebart, independent scholar (ex officio)


Advisory Board

Louis Dupré, Yale University

Wilhelm Dupré, University of Nijmegen

Walter Andreas Euler, University of Trier 

Bernard McGinn, University of Chicago

Erich Meuthen, University of Cologne

John Monfasani, SUNY at Albany

Francis Oakley, Williams College

Hans Gerhard Senger, University of Cologne

Paul Sigmund †, Princeton University

Brian Tierney, Cornell University

Kazuhiko Yamaki, Waseda University